We use cookies to give you the best possible experience of our website. If you continue, we'll assume you're happy for your web browser to receive all cookies from our website. See our cookie policy for more information on cookies and how to manage them.


ATP World Tour: An overview

The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals is a yearly tournament that falls at the end of the men’s professional tennis season. It is a hugely prestigious title, with the tournament featuring only the top 8 world’s best singles and doubles teams. To earn one of the 8 places, players compete year round for Emirates ATP Rankings points, which are tallied up to find the leading men.

Each singles participant will play three matches, and each doubles will play two sets and a tie break at the O2 in London, pushing them into the semi-finals, and hopefully to victory. The total prize money available stands at over £5.5 million, with an undefeated singles champion able to win over £1.7 million alone. In 2015, Novak Dokovic won the men’s singles.

Some facts about the ATP World Tour Finals:

  •  The very first ATP World Tour took place in 1970, In Tokyo, and was won by Stan Smith.
  • It was originally called the Masters, but this was renamed the World Championships in 1990.
  • This year marks the 8th time the tournament has been held at the O2 Arena.
  • Roger Federer has won the title more times than anyone else, standing at six wins. He won twice in Houston, twice in London and twice in Shanghai. 


Any views or opinions expressed in this briefing are for guidance only and are not intended as a substitute for appropriate professional guidance. We have taken all reasonable steps to ensure the information contained herein is accurate at the time of writing but it should not be regarded as a complete or authoritative statement of law.